My OCD is on Vacation. Please Leave a Message

Standard

My OCD has had it’s ups and downs over the course of my life, but it’s always been present in some form. In the past few years it’s been very manageable and it’s main manifestation is in my house. When I’m at home I’m extremely clean and everything (and I mean everything) has it’s place. Especially when I’m stressed I just can’t focus when things aren’t just as they are supposed to be. This can get difficult as I normally work from home.

In 2012, at Jay’s request, we moved to Cancun for a year. Jay is not a fan of the cold weather and is a huge fan of the ocean, so for the last two (Canadian) winters we’ve gone back to Cancun. We are currently here for the third time and I’ve noticed a change. Life in general is different here and our specific day to day activities are also different. We don’t have all the amenities that we have at home and we live in a very modest house. Things move slower and it’s impossible to keep things perfectly clean.

The first time we lived here I spent a lot of time trying to make plans, keeping things organized, and cleaning. It made me frustrated and mildly depressed. The second time we came back I was a bit better, and as a result my stress levels dropped. This time however, I think I’ve got it perfected. I have no major expectations and I have come into it knowing that things will be a bit chaotic, but that’s okay. I know I have my perfectly clean and organized house in Canada and I don’t need to replicate it here. Being able to accept this has allowed me to be much calmer and easy going. I can enjoy the randomness of living in Mexico and embrace everything that happens.

I’m not on vacation- I still work online, but my OCD certainly is. I definitely couldn’t sustain this all year as I’m sure my tendencies would start to creep up again, but it’s nice to have 4 months a year when I can let go and not feel guilty about being a little less organized, a little less clean, and a little more spontaneous. Viva Mexico!

DSC05354

Leave a Reply

